Weekend with Mixify

**This post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**



Disclosure: this is a sponsored post on behalf of MtoM Consulting and The Mixify Tour.  

 

 

Last weekend, more than 100 teens from across Atlanta were treated to a delightful afternoon at Centennial Park with Atlanta Falcons’ Wide Receiver, Devin Hester, as part of the Mixify Tour, a series of events around the country with fun activities, demonstrations, tips and tools, music, and giveaways — all designed to educate teens about the importance of balancing what they eat and drink with what they do.

Mixify is a first-of-its-kind multi-year, national program launched last September by the American Beverage Association (ABA), The Coca-Cola Company, Dr Pepper Snapple Group and Pepsico to engage teens through the communications channels they use every day in ways that fit easily into their lives.  They even offer tips and tools to balance your healthy lifestyle with the foods and drinks you enjoy.

Mixify Tour

Developed with input from moms and teens, the program is focused on supporting parents’ efforts to educate their teens about balance in authentic, interesting and engaging ways. The new Mixify Tour is taking that message of balance on the road with a 25-foot food truck re- purposed into a traveling balance billboard. The truck serves as the center of an event providing activities to demonstrate the importance of balancing “eat, drink & do,” access to experts like fitness instructors to answer questions about balance, group fitness classes, music and ways for teens to share their balance mixes through social media.

For additional information about Mixify or the Mixify Tour, visit www.mymixify.com.  And make sure to check out future dates for the Mixify Tour!

Mixify is part of the Balance Calories Initiative. More information can be found at deliveringchoices.org.

Finally, check out the video of the fun that was had at the Atlanta leg of the tour.

Keep on saving!  :o)
--Barbara

**Remember, y'all, this post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**

2015 Alive! Expo Atlanta

**This post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**



As you may recall, I’m working hard these days on cleaning out my pantry.  Imagine my delight when I was invited to attend this year’s Alive! Expo Atlanta.  It’s the perfect opportunity to learn more about all things natural, green, and healthy.

11th Annual Alive! Expo Atlanta 2015

May 2 & 3, 2015
Saturday: 11am – 7pm
Sunday: 11am – 6pm

Georgia World Congress Center, Hall C4
235 Northside Drive NW, Atlanta, GA 30313

Tickets: $10 ($5 discount below!)

FREE for kids 16 and under, as well as
for Active Military with a Valid ID

Alive Expo 2015

Alive! Expo is an interactive “Natural Products & Green Living” consumer event filled with cooking demos, health lectures, fitness demos, kids area and lots of natural product and food samples. Alive! Expo brings together local and national companies that specialize in natural, organic, and eco products to showcase, sample and educate attendees interested in leading a green, clean and healthy lifestyle. Alive Expo is a fun and exciting weekend event for the entire family.

Its mission is to inspire and encourage individuals to embrace a life of health, wellness, fitness and environmental living through awareness of natural, organic and alternative products and solutions, advanced medicine research, education, nutrition, exercise and lifelong benefits of living a green, clean and healthy lifestyle.

Get your tickets Alive! Expo Atlanta tickets here – use my exclusive discount code*: ATLFRG15 to get $5 off your ticket.

* disclosure: When you purchase using my discount code, I make a small commission.  It’s just another small way you can support Atlanta’s Frugal Mom.

Keep on saving!  :o)
--Barbara

**Remember, y'all, this post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**

Amazon Lightning Deals – Top Deals for 12/1/14

**This post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**



Thanks to The Budget Bandit I have a list of the Top 10 BEST Amazon Lightning Deals of today!  Also make sure to check out today’s Amazon Lightning Deals for toys.


Canon PowerShot S110 12MP Digital Camera with 3-Inch LCD (Black), Deal of the Day $159.99 (reg $299.99)

Shark Navigator Lift-Away Professional Upright (NV356E), Starts at 8:00 AM PST/10:00 AM CST/11:00 AM EST

Dell P2214H IPS 22-Inch Screen LED-Lit Monitor, Starts at 8:40 AM PST/10:40 AM CST/11:40 EST

DeLonghi RO2058 6-Slice Convection Toaster Oven with Rotisserie, Starts at 9:00 AM PST/11:00 AM CST/12:00 PM EST

Advantus 10-Drawer Rolling Organizer, 37.6 x 13 x 15.4 Inches, Multi-Colored (AVT34004), Starts at 10:00 AM PST/12:00 PM CST/1:00 PM PST

Comfort Research King Fuf in Comfort Suede, Sierra Red, Starts at 10:00 AM PST/12:00 PM CST/1:00 PM EST

Panasonic KX-TG7875S Link2Cell Bluetooth Enabled Phone with Answering Machine & 5 Cordless Handsets, Starts at 10:40 AM PST/12:40 PM CST/1:40 PM EST

American Tourister Upright 25, Black, One Size, Starts at 11:00 AM PST/1:00 PM CST/2:00 PM EST

Willow Tree You and Me, Starts at 12:00 PM PST/2:00 PM CST/3:00 PM EST

Silhouette Vinyl Starter Kit, Starts at 1:00 PM PST/3:00 PM CST/4:00 PM EST

SINGER 8763 Curvy Computerized Free-Arm Sewing Machine, Starts at 2:00 PM PST/4:00 PM CST/5:00 PM EST

Let me know if you’re able to snag any of these SWEET deals today!  Leave a note in the comments below.  🙂

Keep on saving!  :o)
--Barbara

**Remember, y'all, this post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**

Get Ready for Girls Night 6-10-14

**This post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**



Disclosure: This is a sponsored post to promote this event. 

Get Ready for Girls Night

Get Ready for Girls Night with Motions and Walmart

Join local beauty bloggers Kiwi of kiwithebeauty.com, Stacey of thesistahcafe.com and West of confessionsofablogvixen.com June 10th from 3pm – 7pm for an afternoon of beauty Q&A’s and Motions giveaways at the Walmart Supercenter at 2427 Gresham Rd SE, Atlanta, GA 30316.

The event will kick off, vegas-style, with Motions and Walmart giftbags for the first 100 attendees. Then guests can enjoy snacks and discuss how to get ready for their girls night out.

Prizes will be given away throughout the event including gift cards, hair products, fashion accessories and more! Tickets will also be given away to the star studded movie screening of Think Like a Man Too on June 11th at 8 pm.

At the Think Like a Man Too screening, there will be appearances by Kevin Hart, La La Anthony and Terrence Jenkins.

Get Ready for Girls Night - Think Like a Man Too

Spread the word and post your photos for the event using the hashtags #Motions #Walmart and #TLAM2WMT .

Comment below and let me know if you’ll be attending!  🙂

Keep on saving!  :o)
--Barbara

**Remember, y'all, this post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**

2014 Atlanta Baby and Child Expo *GIVEAWAY*

**This post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**



Atlanta Baby and Child Expo 2014

The Atlanta Baby and Child Expo is fast approaching! I had such a delightful time attending last year and the year before that, and am super-excited about it’s upcoming return.  Also, I’m happy to offer tickets to purchase, and a giveaway for one lucky winner, too!  (see details below)

THE premier event for expecting and new parents in the Southeast is returning to the Fox Theater!  We bring in the ultimate in parenting and baby products and professionals.   It’s an elite experience, intimate in setting and not overwhelming.  It’s a party for YOU, the expectant, the new parent, the grandparent and the supporting cast of family and friends.  This event features a Maternity Fashion Show, Red Carpet Photos of attendees as they enter, a Stroller Trial Track, Cravings Corner and so much more!

2014 Atlanta Baby and Child Expo:

April 26, 2014 from  11am to 2:30 pm
(VIP ticket holders get early entry, starting at 10:30am)
Fox Theatre Ballrooms, 660 Peachtree Street, NE, Atlanta, GA 30308

Tickets: www.atlantababyandchildexpo.com has all the details and tickets

Not only did I score some cool loot last year, but I also learned quite a bit, and was introduced to some new (to me) products!  Check out the loot from years past:

Atlanta Baby and Child Expo loot

These are the items I *won* from Atlanta Parent Magazine!

Atlanta Baby and Child Expo loot

photo courtesy of My Life as Super Lady

Atlanta Baby and Child Expo loot

photo courtesy of My Life as Super Lady

Purchase tickets for the 2014 Atlanta Baby and Child Expo here*, or you can WIN tickets HERE!!  First, comment below with who in your life is expecting or has a little one (even if it’s YOU.)  Then, enter with the form below for a chance to win!  Good luck, y’all!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

* disclosure: Tickets purchased through my link here generate a small commission for me.  It’s just another small way you can support Atlanta’s Frugal Mom.

Keep on saving!  :o)
--Barbara

**Remember, y'all, this post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**

Olivia’s Doll House – Spring Break Camps

**This post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**



My daughter and I recently had the pleasure of experiencing a tea party with Princess Elsa, courtesy of Olivia’s Dollhouse in John’s Creek.  Watching a few dozen little girls dress up, sing along with, and hangout with one of their favorite Frozen characters was certainly a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for my daughter, and she keeps talking about “when she had a tea party with Princess Elsa.”

Olivia's Dollhouse - Princess Elsa

Simply splendid, in my books!

Brandi, the owner of Olivia’s Dollhouse, went out of her way during this event to ensure that all princesses (guests) were properly attended to, and even greeted each one by name.  With walls of dress-up dresses, shoes, and accessories from which to choose, the super-friendly staff helped each little girl transform in to a princess of their choice.  (Yeah, my daughter loves Frozen, but she’s still a hardcore Ariel fan.)  What a magical way to start the party!

Olivia's Dollhouse - dress-up collage

After each princess’s transformation was complete,  they hung out with Princess Elsa, chatting together while she painted sparkly art on each princess’s hand.

Olivia's Dollhouse - sparkly hand painting

Each girl was then whisked away to the royal dining room, where they were treated to “tea” (pink lemonade), light snacks, then finger sandwiches and pizza, followed by a sweet treat.  To top it off, Princess Elsa read stories to the princesses while they enjoyed their food, and then posed for pictures with each girl.  Each princess got a keepsake picture of their tea with Princess Elsa.

Olivia's Dollhouse - tea and dining with Elsa

All in all, it was a fairly simple, yet highly memorable event for my daughter, and all the princesses who joined us that afternoon.  If you have a princess who could use a little magic, consider signing her up for Olivia’s Dollhouse an Easter Bunny Brunch on April 13.  You can find details and make your reservations here.

Olivia's Dollhouse - Easter Bunny Brunch
Additionally, Olivia’s Dollhouse is offering a special spring break charm school camp for little ladies, ages 5 – 12.  You can opt for one day or all week.
Olivia's Dollhouse - Spring Break Charm School

Keep on saving!  :o)
--Barbara

**Remember, y'all, this post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**

Spinkles Cupcakes is Coming!! + Giveaway

**This post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**



Atlanta, y’all, we’ve arrived! Sprinkles Cupcakes is heading to Lenox Square Mall!!

Spinkles Cupcakes Lenox Mall Atlanta

 The highly anticipated Sprinkles Cupcakes is excited to announce its first Southeastern location will debut in Atlanta January 24, 2014. Sprinkles Atlanta will find itself in Buckhead’s Lenox Square Mall and will feature Sprinkles Cupcakes, Sprinkles Ice Cream, Sprinkles Cookies and one of the country’s four Cupcake ATMs. [Read more…]

Keep on saving!  :o)
--Barbara

**Remember, y'all, this post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**

Atlanta’s Global Winter Wonderland Tickets Discount + Winner!

**This post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**



First, thank you all for a fantastically successful (but oh-so-quick!) giveaway campaign this last week for the Global Winter Wonderland tickets.  I thoroughly enjoyed reading y’alls winter memories.  As a true Georgia girl, snow is still a slightly abstract concept to me, so I lived vicariously through some of y’alls memories.  😉  But before I share the Global Winter Wonderland tickets discount with you all, I need to make an announcement!

Global Winter Wonderland tickets discount - Atlanta 2013

We have a winner for the tickets giveaway: ……………………..Kim R!  Congratulations, and enjoy what will surely be a wonderful experience for you and your family!

For everyone else who didn’t win, get Global Winter Wonderland ticket discounts through Goldstar.  If you’re not familiar with them, they offer services both online and via their mobile app.  They’re definitely worth keeping handy!


Global Winter Wonderland tickets discount
And if you’d like a refresher of what to expect at Atlanta’s Global Winter Wonderland, here’s the highlights:

  • It’s a multicultural theme park and lantern festival
  • replicates world-famous architectural achievements, i.e. the Statue of Liberty
  • carnival rides and games, international cuisine, arts and crafts, live entertainment, and celebrations of holiday traditions and various cultures from around the world.
  • Runs November 21 through January 5, 2013
  • Hosted at Turner Field.  Yep, *that* Turner Field.  😉
  • Find out even more details here.
Keep on saving!  :o)
--Barbara

**Remember, y'all, this post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**

Breakfast with Santa ONE Midtown Kitchen

**This post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**



Ok, so it’s not even Thanksgiving – heck, we just slammed the door on Halloween, but -alas- it’s already time to start thinking about jolly ol’ Saint Nick.  Yep, it’s time to deck the halls, jingle bells and clean up after that Elf you hid all over the house. Don’t forget the scads of cookies you have to bake and getting those kiddos matching PJ’s for Christmas morning!

Breakfast with Santa ONE Midtown Kitchen _ Santa pic

[Read more…]

Keep on saving!  :o)
--Barbara

**Remember, y'all, this post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**

What is YOUR RealAge? **I’m 24!!**

**This post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**



Find out what your real age is by taking the RealAge test!   It’s a unique calculation of your body’s health age. Created by top doctors. Powered by the latest medical research. Resulting in personalized tips and action plans to GET HEALTHIER and GROW YOUNGER!

I just took a few minutes to complete this fun but inclusive test, and I’m loving the results: I’m a full 8 and a half years younger than my “calendar age”!  I’m 33, but apparently have the wellness of a 24.5 year old.  I’ll take that.  😉

Take the RealAge test yourself and share your RealAge, then let me know what their RealAge is!  Can you beat my 8.5 years younger status?

Keep on saving!  :o)
--Barbara

**Remember, y'all, this post may contain affiliate links. I receive a small amount of compensation when you purchase from my links, which I"ll totally blow on waffle fries and sweet tea, y'all!**

Atlanta's Frugal Mom is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon. In other words, if you click through to Amazon from some of the books or products I recommend and make a purchase, I get a small percentage in exchange for your purchase. It's a small way you can support AFM.